Questions on Abortion: How do we distinguish between a living and a non-living human?

daily_evangelism
abortion

(Bryant Tanadjaya) #1

Hi everyone!

I’ve recently come across a conversation concerning abortion. Now, I’m not very experienced in this field because most people in Indonesia (where I’m from) do not talk about this. But I’ve recently talked about it with a friend of mine and I believe he’s (non-verbally) agreeing with me that taking a way a human life is wrong, but he asks how I distinguish between a living and a non-living human.

I asked my friend (who’s also a Christian) concerning this and she said that if the brain is no longer functional then we would consider a human dead. She also said that life begins at conception when a fetus develops a unique genetic code different from his/her parents. However, if the functioning of a brain is how we distinguish between a living and a non-living human, wouldn’t a fetus at conception be considered non-living since it hasn’t developed a functioning brain yet? Moreover, we often ascribe consciousness to “being alive” and yet a fetus does not have this (yet).

How should I respond to my friend, and does the Bible have anything to say about this?

Thank you in advance for the responses! God bless you all!

(SeanO) #2

@imbryant First and foremost, I think this is one of those topics where we need to be especially careful to extend respect, grace and compassion for those who disagree with us. There are people who have had abortions and need healing - the last thing we want to do is come across as condemning.