Scott

(Scott ) #1

Hello. My name is Scott, and I live in Virginia. I took the core module several years ago. I found it to be interesting and sometimes helpful, though I challenge its assertions in places. I decided to join connect because I enjoy hearing other people’s stories. I am currently in my fourth semester at Union Presbyterian Seminary, formerly Union Theological Seminary, in Virginia. I hope to connect with other people and their stories by listening, and by sharing my own.

(Carson Weitnauer) #2

Hi @Scott,

I’m glad you’ve joined - I look forward to growing to maturity in Jesus with you.

Carson

(Billie Corbett) #3

Welcome, and bless you for being honest about feeling challenged.
May God bless you, far above and beyond…all you can hope and think…as you earnestly seek after Him.

(Scott ) #4

Thank you for your words of welcome, Billie. To be clear, I do not feel challenged in the sense that what I hear from RZIM challenges my faith. On the contrary, I find myself challenging some of the things I hear coming from ministries such as RZIM. Don’t get me wrong. I have a great appreciation for their ministry. I’ve spent countless hours over the last several years listening to Ravi, and reading materials the ministry references. But at this point in my life and in my education, I find myself evaluating other people’s theologies, which I believe is a good thing to do, and I often come away feeling that perhaps there could be a more helpful approach than what is being suggested, particularly for people who feel estranged from God or any concept of God and are unable to relate to ideas about God as they are often presented. I am here simply to join others in conversation, and I’m grateful for a space like this for honest discussion of faith-related issues. Thanks again for your kind response.

(Scott ) #5

Thanks Carson.

(Billie Corbett) #6