Secular music that glorifies God

(Jennifer Wilkinson) #1

Can secular music glorify God? If so, what are some specific examples?

As a classical musician, I can find examples in that field, such as Mozart. His music grew out of the Enlightenment and a belief in the orderliness of the universe. Mozart didn’t write all his music to the glory of God like Bach did, but Mozart’s music still reflects the beauty and rationality of God.

Are there similar examples in popular music? Are any styles of music unredeemable? If music is the language of the heart, are some styles so linked to the brokenness of our culture that they should be avoided?

Introduction: Jennifer Wilkinson
How much is music an influence?
(SeanO) #2

@Jennifer_Wilkinson I do not personally believe that any style of music is unredeemable. For example, wrap music may often glorify things that are ungodly, but men like Lecrae use it to share the Gospel and declare God’s glory. So I think that content is more important than style.

I believe that when we create we reflect the image of our Creator - so composing beautiful music that reminds people of the joys and sorrows of this world is a reflection of the fact that we are made in God’s image. However, I am not sure if I would say that reflecting God’s image and glorifying God are exactly the same thing. I would need to think about that further.

Ultimately, I think that as long as we obey Paul’s injunction in Philippians to think only on those things that are praiseworthy, the style of music is not the issue.

Philippians 4:8 - Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.