Should a christian listen to songs that are not christian in nature ? Or more importantly go sing on pubs to win others ? This has been bothering me!

(Prashant Pradhan) #1

I am a pastor in nepal , how do i teach my church and youths . I want a fresh prespective!

(Kenny) #2

Hi Prashant, thanks for being willing to share this tough question.

I believe that your question is split into 2 parts:

1) The Type of Music
2) The Location of Evangelism

============

1) The Type of Music

Andrew Fletcher (a Scottish political activist in 18th century) shared, “Let me write the songs of a nation, I don’t care who writes its laws.” He believed that songs have a way to steer the people in a certain direction that laws are not able to.

Interestingly, Ravi Zacharias was asked this question also by a youth pastor, and he gave some very interesting points:

• music is a very powerful instrument
  • music will keep changing because taste will fluctuate from generation to generation
  • see who the audience is, and see if the kind of music is something that will engage

Therefore, it is good to note that relevance is key. I do agree with this as well, and we can’t just take bible narratives literally.

And if your right hand causes you to stumble, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to go into hell. (Matthew 5:30)

Can you imagine if we take it literally today? We will have a lot of amputees around, haha.

Ravi Zacharias also added that:

• music is the language of the soul
  • music brings the emotions into reality
  • music is very seductive, and can make the means and ends in itself
  • music brings with it an artistic mind, and it may sometime floats with emotions and aesthetics and not be anchored to reason and argument
  • don’t let it become a God, let it become a means to point people to God