Situation with Trangender

Hello everyone! I have a situation that I would appreciate your thoughts on. I am a teacher in training and recently have been getting ready for the school year to begin. I received a notice that a student who identifies as transgender is going to be in our class and it was requested by the legal guardian that we refer the student as “he”. The student is a girl to clarify. Is it wrong for me as a Christian to go along with this? I initially felt really uncomfortable with it.

1 Like

@Collins. Certainly, I will be in prayer with you regarding this conflict. I don’t have a clear answer for you but wondered if the manner in which you address your students could be elevated from the need for gender assignments?

I have heard some instructors only address their students by their last names. Or you could address all with the moniker of student (insert last name.) I wonder if it is possible to remove gender references from your instructions which would allow all students the same environment; without tasking you into the role of support for an agenda you are not comfortable with.

You most likely will find there is a certain amount of dishonesty in the guardian’s request. The request may be an effort to press you into political correctness or conflict that will allow them to bring legal action against you or the school. But if you provide the same environment for all students, you should be on safe legal grounds and comfortable moral grounds.

1 Like

I know you could probably get in trouble for this, but to avoid calling them by their actual pronoun or their prefered pronoun I would simply call them by their legal name. That can cause trouble if they go by a different name then their legal name, but it seems to be the safest bet in terms of sticking with your values as a Christian insofar as we are created in God’s image as, “male and female He created them.”