Special Ministries

(Steven M Levine) #1

This is my first time posting a new topic on here. But, I am interested as to whether you have a special ministry that you do, or are involved in. I would also like some advice from different people as to what to look for in your ministry, and the who, what and how of getting these people ministry.

For instance, while I have generalized ministry through speaking and being a pastor, I have a secondary ministry that has started to really form for me in the last couple of years. Many people don’t even know about it, and that’s okay. We all have a story. And, while we all have a different story, we all cross paths with people who have a story so similar to ours, that a very personal relationship can form.

1 John 4:18 says:
“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.”

Part of my story is that I lost my father at the age of 8. Over the last couple of years, God has put some kids in my life that have very similar stories. One of which, I had to do the dad’s memorial service. It was the hardest funeral that I had ever done, as it brought up some very strong emotions in me. I was determined to get through it, for the kid’s sake.

Two others that have been put into my life is a young man who lost his dad in exactly the same way I did, and young lady who lost her dad at about the same age that I did. Both are at different places in their lives, so I interact with each one a little differently. But, the ministry is still there.

Children who have lost parents have a huge void in their lives. So, my advice to people who are in ministry, is to not lump them into other groups, such as single parent families due to divorce or other circumstances. I don’t want to compare losses. Everyone deals with loss in their own way. It is my hope that kids who have lost a parent, can have a mentor or counselor who have been through it.