Testimony - Kel -- A divorce lawyer in marriage ministry?

I was born in Sioux Falls, SD. The Grand Weaver started my life with a Christian family, attending a Wesleyan Church. My mom and dad were faithful in training. I accepted Christ at vacation bible school when I was about 9 years old.

The fabric of my being was argument (ask my mom). I wanted to be a lawyer when I was in 4th grade. We moved to Wisconsin when I was in high school and college (UofW) there. In 1982 I married my high school sweetheart, Sandra (Sam). We had Aaron in 1983. I graduated from University of Wisconsin (Oshkosh) in 1985. I was accepted to Thomas M. Cooley Law School in Lansing, MI. Prior to moving to Michigan we were involved in church. But, church hypocrisy was the enemy’s door crack for a foothold on me.

I was a striver. After watching a worship pastor and lead pastor arguing harshly, I felt licensed to bail on attendance. I saw little consistency and few living the way they said they believed. I was trapped in the truth of Romans 8:4: Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires. My priorities were skewed.

I was working, going to law school, and responsible for a toddler. I set goals: get a law degree, pass the bar exam, obtain a job, become a partner, drive a certain car, have a certain salary, attain notoriety in the legal community, enjoy vacations, home, lake cottage, make good investments, blah, blah, blah. Meanwhile, I had no Godly focus nor priority in my marriage. I was selfish.