Testimony - Olivia

(Olivia Davis) #1

Hi everyone,

Here’s my testimony. :slight_smile:

I came to know Jesus at an early age under the discipleship of my mother. I believed that God loved me, and he created in me a tender heart to listen to his spirit.

However, when I was in high school, I began to idolize academic performance. I knew that God loved me beyond measure, but I didn’t know how to believe this. I overworked myself in school, trying to prove my value as if it could be quantified by test scores and teachers’ praises. My successes never changed anything, though, and I was constantly frustrated and wholly unfulfilled.

As time passed, two concurrent events created a turning point that led me to repentance and new discovery of Jesus’ love for me.

The first happened when I was a freshman in college. A professor personally challenged me regarding the intellectual credibility of the Christian faith. I had never seriously questioned my faith on intellectual grounds. As I read about the historical reliability of the Bible and evidence for the resurrection (thanks RZIM), I grew more and more fascinated by my God, about whom there was suddenly so much more to learn.

Around the same time, I read The Knowledge of the Holy by A.W. Tozer. His line “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us,” equally convicted and excited me. I began to see that my feelings of emptiness that led me to search for validation in academics were rooted not in poor self-esteem (though probably the opposite) but in unbelief in God’s Word and the things it says about me (Psalm 139, for example). On the other hand, I felt relief — there was a way out of the endless cycle of performance-driven identity.