The true church of Jesus

Hello and merry Christmas

My question arises from a discussion I had with a family member today who is a devout Catholic. He was saying that Jesus came to earth to create an organization which is the church and Peter has the keys to it which Jesus gave him. That church he said is the only true way to get salvation.

I would like to know where to start to research about what is the true church of Jesus. My background is a mixture as I have been baptised as Catholic and have been raised going to the Syriac church of the East.

Did Jesus come to make an organisation? If so where in scripture is that located?
Does Peter hold the keys to the kingdom and did he establish the Roman Catholic Church?

There is much more in this but I am sure this question in different words has been asked.

Thank you

2 Likes

@Zaia_Joudo Hi!

I’m not sure if you’re looking for an immediate time sensitive answer. But here is a shorthand response that I can give as a starting point.
I believe the scripture this person is referring to is:

Matthew 16:16-19 King James Version (KJV)

16 And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.

17 And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.

18 And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.

19 And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.

Response to “This Rock”