Ty Bolen

(Ty Bolen) #1

Hey guys,
my names Ty Bolen. I’m currently a sophomore in college at Florida Southwestern State. Next Semester, I will be transferring to either Wheaton College or the University of Washington to pursue a masters in psychology and possibly apologetics. As to what I hope to gain I am not quite sure… My beliefs are shaky at best. Some parts of the scripture seem almost too good to be true and some just see down right impossible. Anyways, I hope to gain knowledge and insight in this forum and also hope to help others the best I can. As we should always put others above us ( I know, easier said than done. ). Looking forward to chatting with you guys!

(SeanO) #2

@tbolen9 Welcome to Connect! So glad you are joining us here and praying that the Lord Jesus might grant you wisdom as you make decisions regarding your future. Wheaton is a great place to get grounded in your faith.

What parts of the Bible do you struggle with the most?

(Ty Bolen) #3

Thanks for the welcome!

I guess I struggle with some on my stories in the bible. For instance, I came across a passage today in ACTS that talks of a man dying after lying to the holy spirit about what percentage of his earnings he gave to the church. This story, as do countless others, seem too metaphorical. Don’t get me wrong, I love analogies, I’m just unsure if we are actually supposed to believe a man dropped dead on sight because he lied to the holy spirit. Especially since there is no evidence of this happening in our day and age.

(SeanO) #4

@tbolen9 Indeed - glad you are joining us.