Wearisome Apologetics

I am a physical therapist assistant in a long term care facility. Everyday I have to use apologetical approach when trying to witness to coworkers. It wears me down some days engaging in these discussions and seeing all the suffering around doesn’t help specifically degenerative brain diseases. Then doubts flood my mind again and I battle them back with the Word of God.
These doubts include:
If truth is truth why do we have to work so hard to defend it?
Honestly my last question is do any of you experience these feelings or thoughts after engaging in apologetical discussion? Any tips on recovering after hard conversations?
Grace and Peace to all.

14 Likes

Hi Troy,

I believe there are others such as @SeanO who can deliver a more thorough response to the question regarding, “If truth is truth, why do we have to work so hard to defend it?”

My initial thought went to Paul in Romans 3:11: “there is no one who understands; no one who seeks God.” Even though we believe in the absolute truth of God’s Word, us in our sinful nature will never be able to handle the truth. The sheer ability for anyone to seek God and begin to understand truth is ultimately from God Himself, as stated in Ephesians 2:8-9.

If the Spirit isn’t working in someone’s heart, no amount of apologetic arguments will convince them to follow Jesus.

I say that not to discourage you from apologetics, as I believe they are a wonderful tool. On the contrary, I say that to remind you that ultimately it is the Spirit who turns us towards Christ, and the method the Spirit uses for this process may be apologetics for one person, but not necessarily the other.