What are some good resources for understanding Nietzsche?

(Jamie Hobbs) #1

Anyone have any good materials on Nietzsche’s effect on humanist thought? Ravi speaks of him often, but I was looking for some literature on the topic. There’s a coach in a nearby school that claimed, “I was set free from the church’s teachings through a 1.5 hour lecture on Nietzsche.” There are several implications there, and I regret that I have no further knowledge of this lecture. I admit concern that a man with so much influence over children would see the teachings of the church as constricting, as if he was wearing shackles until Nietzsche set him free. It would seem to be the opposite to me.

Any help would be most appreciated.

(Jimmy Sellers) #2

I am not a Nietzsche expert but this is a short video with an author Ruth Abbey, Friedrich Nietzsche’s Thought perhaps this might give you some insight as to what was appealing to the coach you mentioned. My guess is he was shacked by doubt and not comfortable with asking the why questions. If you think for a moment this is what we do here, ask the whys. Nietzsche’s Thought

I hope this helps.

(Jamie Hobbs) #3

Thank you, sir. I will definitely look into it.

(SeanO) #4

@Jamie_Hobbs Below are some resources that I think would provide a good starting point. I still remember reading ‘Beyond Good and Evil’ and being shocked at the outworking of his thought in that particular work - he clearly felt that he was among a select group of ‘supermen’ who had ascended above the sheeple (he felt most people were like sheep - weak and basically unworthy of existence) to lead humanity forward. And I feel that anyone who agrees with his thought strongly must also see themselves as somehow above the sheeple and uniquely gifted in some way - his works to me seem to contain a very strong temptation to a terrible pride and hubris.