What does it mean to be 'in' Christ?

daily_evangelism

(SeanO) #1

@angelina_Edmonston posed this question for @Dave_Kenny on another thread, so I am just creating a new thread for this topic for everyone to post good commentaries / insight on the question:

What does it mean to be ‘in’ Christ?

(Dave Kenny) #2

thanks @SeanO for initiating a clean thread. Its a fabulous question

I too have this question… I am on my journey as a disciple and there are aspects of faith that cannot be adequately studied… rather… they must be experienced! I suspect that this is one of them…

I would defer very quickly to those in the Connect family that are more experienced as pastors or lay persons that have had trials and turmoil as part of their journey. I suspect that their thoughts on this topic are far more authentic than what mine would be… I am still a novice in my spirituality…

my current experience of being “in Christ” is understood as the ‘other half’ of death to self. What I am learning as I journey is that I continually have to confront aspects of myself, and put them to death… while I am willing to do that, I find it personally perplexing that as I continue to dig I find that there is always more that I can ‘put to death’

why do the selfish and self-centered aspects of myself remain so well hidden that only through deep reflection or life conflict do they come to the surface so that I may slay them unto The Lord? After all… I am willing… (I think…)

the other picture I have in my mind is “Christ-likeness”… this would point me directly to the practice of spiritual disciplines… of which the two authors i have come to respect the most are Willard and Foster

I am intentionally avoiding a thick theological treatment of this question… I believe its more personal than that…

I would benefit from others with extensive experience in walking closely with God through thick and thin offering their insights to this question…

Dave

(Robert Shanks) #3