What is the ultimate motivation for Christian to Work?

(Babang ) #1

I am a software engineer who have been struggling to find motivations at work. It is not that I struggle financially, I have enough to feed me and my family and I am grateful for that. Nor my boss complain about my performance - I am doing alright.

However, my heart feels heavy knowing that long hours spent daily in office would finally let me down, I don’t really have sense of joy as I feel all of efforts spent has nothing to do with God’s work. I can only see working with people with so different kind of motivations, office politics,promotions, talking on someone’s back etc. I feel wasting this precious time. I have no idea, maybe soon God would call me and I have no legacy to leave in life when He ask me what have I done.

If someone is Pastor or Evangelist or that kind, I feel it is easy to relate to God’s work, but should someone switch to that profession in order to find meaning?

I search in Bible, it mention little about daily work or what should motivate people to work or I might be wrong.
Is it really possible God’s willing is for someone to be a software engineer?
I need help from brothers and sisters, to share their ultimate motivation at works and whether they can find joy in God in working place.

Any particular Bible story that help someone to find ultimate meaning in his work?

(SeanO) #2

@MrB That is a great question. I understand your struggle - having worked as a software engineer myself. I think a Biblical understanding of work is that through our work we serve the common good of humanity and it does honor the Lord when we do our work as if unto Him, to the best of our ability. We are a witness in the way we honor our employers and do our best in our jobs.

The software you produce helps someone else do their job and feed their family. So you are serving the human community by performing your work.