What worldviews believe only God exists?

I was watching a clip of question and answer where a partner of Ravi lays out 3 categories of belief, and states that all religions fit into one of these three worldviews: 1. Only God exists 2. God and the Universe Exists ( Judaism, Christianity, Islam) 3. Only the universe exists ( atheism, naturalism,). I understand 2 and 3, but can anyone share what worldview believes only God exists? I’m trying to soak in the fundamental answers to common questions people ask. Thank you!

4 Likes

@kedick, I’m so glad you’re committing this to memory because it’s tremendously helpful! The worldviews that claim only God exists are mostly Eastern Religions. Several forms of Buddhism and Hinduism come to mind, but I’m not an expert in this area. Hopeful someone with more knowledge here can help us out. @SeanO are you more versed here than I am? If so, please enlighten us!

4 Likes

I’ve heard of four main world view categories which are

• monotheism (Christianity, Islam, Judaism),
  • pantheism (nature is god, pagan religions worship of nature),
  • polytheism with many gods (hindu/Buddhism).
  • atheism

found this article and it appears there is one called ‘Panentheism’. Never heard of it before, but in the article the author seems to differentiate between pantheism (as an impersonal force) and ‘Panentheism’ (which is everything is god including your kitchen sink :slight_smile: sorry couldn’t resist, been reading too much of Andy Bannisters book ‘the atheist that didn’t exist’ ).

4 Likes

@kedick Not an expert, but presume that category (1) is pantheism. In pantheistic worldview, everything is divine, including you, and in some of them when you die you cease to have an individual identity and are absorbed back into the divine. Also, the pantheist’s god is generally more like the force in star wars—an impersonal force, than a personal Being as in Christianity.