When do you know your answer from God is “No”

(Kelly Meszaros) #1

I’ve had this question on my mind for awhile. At what point do we as believers have to accept God’s answer to our prayer is “No”? I’ve been praying for something for about 3 years faithfully. I sought wise counsel, thought I heard from God, and as I believed my prayer was about to be answered, there was a hurtle that set me back. At what point do I essentially stop praying this same prayer and asking God to intervene in a situation, and just understand that’s “not His will” and move on? This isn’t a prayer for someone’s salvation, I feel like the answer to that would be to never give up praying for someone’s salvation.

I appreciate any and all insight and look forward to hearing answers/thoughts.

(SeanO) #2

@Kelly_Mesz That is a great question. Even though your question is not about finding God’s will, a book on God’s will by Bruce Waltke really helped me when it comes to understanding prayer, so I have provided a link below. What Waltke does a great job of pointing out is that so often we want to hear a voice from God or have a feeling of peace or a word from a friend and trust that as God’s Word directly to us on that matter. But at the end of the day the Biblical way of discovering God’s will requires wisdom - we are not likely to receive in instantaneous affirmation of God’s will.

So, a few questions that I would recommend when trying to discern if you should continue praying are:

• does it align with Biblical principles? Is what you are praying for Biblical?
  • what are your motivations for praying for this particular thing? Are your motives pure before God?
  • what is the counsel of godly people around you? Do they affirm that this is something you should be pursuing?

But if you have already done all of these things, which it sounds like you have, how do you know if God’s answer is ‘no’?

I think that is fairly simple. You know God’s answer is no if it never comes to pass.