Why did God create us?

(Olivia Davis) #1

Hi all!

I have a personal question that I haven’t been able to make much headway on, so I’m hoping you all could help me!

I feel like I understand why Christianity makes sense from a human perspective. By that, I feel like I have a grasp of our need for God because of original sin, and thus the saving grace of the resurrection and atonement. (Obviously my understanding always needs to grow, and I’m still learning.)

However, if I look at Christianity from God’s perspective (not that any of us really can do that, but bear with me), I’m a little confused. We say that God is perfect — he doesn’t need anything to complete him; he’s the only one responsible for his existence; he is wholly good. My question is: Why did God create us?

I’ve heard the idea that God created us out of love — that he loved us before he created us, but that confuses me (rightly or wrongly) as an answer to my question. This is because if God loved us before our creation, there was something still separate from God that he loved (us, the idea of humanity). What about the time when there was only God — why might have the idea of creating humanity emerge? The idea that God created us for pleasure also confuses me because it’s like it suggests that God wanted more pleasure than he had before, which seems inconsistent to me with the idea that God is perfect. (Help me!!)

Also, I don’t mean this in a negative or nihilistic sense at all — I’m genuinely interested in thinking about our existence as it relates to theology, and what our creation says about God.

Anyway, to restate my long-winded question: Knowing that God, the only perfect being, is fully satisfied in himself, why might we think that he decided that the existence of human life was better than its nonexistence?

Please feel free to critique any of my thinking above as we think about this together!

(Jamie Hobbs) #2