Why is the Triune God a necessary being?

(Jason samuels) #1

A Muslim friend of mine contends that the Triune God is not a necessary being as the Triune God is tripersonal, How do I understand this more? How do I explain this to my friend? I am quite new to this type of philosophical conversation.

(Andrew Bulin) #2

The late Nabeel Qureshi was Muslim at one time and found that the discussion of the Trinity was very difficult. Many Christians he talked to found it difficult to say anything about it, much less explain it with clarity and conviction. He came to learn that the nature of God as one being, and yet three persons. Questions of hierarchy get explained by putting into view the fact that God the Father, Son, and Spirit are one being, but maintain separate personhood. (Not to be confused with Modalism.)

I admit it’s a very difficult topic, but here is a video of Nabeel explaining briefly in his own words that may help you in your conversations. Coming from someone who was Muslim it may also help to hit key points of concern.

(Roger Greene) #3

Hi Jason, first off, I would really encourage your friend to ask these tough questions and to pursue them together. It will make your faith stronger as you help bring light into your friend’s life. Keep in mind that for a lot of people, I think perhaps Muslims especially, leaving Islam to follow Christ would cost them greatly. They might lose friends, family, and so on. So it is a huge ask of them to abandon their beliefs and follow Christ. Be patient, be kind. Earnestly pursue the conversation and be understanding of your friend.

There are also lots of great resources out there on this subject. As @andrew.bulin mentioned, pretty much anything by Nabeel Qureshi is a fantastic resource here. I’ve attached a link to a debate I found of his on the Trinity. I haven’t finished watching it yet, so I can’t be certain but it may be helpful for you.